Prevention Works!

Suicide & Self Harm

WHY?
Suicide FAQs
Self-harm FAQs
LGBTQ FAQs
Warning Signs
How to Help
Statistics
Depression & Suicide
Restricting the Means
After an Attempt
After a Suicide

Resources & Links

Brochures & Posters
Websites
Books
Videos
LGBTQ Resources
For the Media

Youth: Make a Difference

Managing Stress
Depression & Self-injury
Bullying & Suicide
Helping a Friend
Talking with an Adult
Coping after a Suicide
Prevention at School

Adults: Take Action

In Your Community
Get Organized
Get Educated
Get Active
Stay Active

Field coordinators: working locally to prevent youth suicide

Print Page

Field CoordinatorsYSPP field coordinators build a strong local support system for youth. To strengthen communication and collaboration among schools, families, churches, service clubs and local and regional government agencies, our coordinators create local coalitions that strive to ensure that fewer young people will fall between the cracks.

These dedicated workers are the hands, heart and pulse of youth suicide prevention in each location where they serve. They do this by:

  • Joining with various local agencies to incorporate YSPP education and training into their working agendas;

  • Facilitating discussion and outreach when a suicide or attempt occurs;
  • Appearing at local events to raise awareness of youth suicide and prevention services;
  • Serving as "the" resource link between suicide prevention needs and appropriate local services;
  • Facilitating YSPP presentations and trainings in a variety of local venues;
  • Working with faith communities to deconstruct old prejudices and stigmas that prevent at-risk youth and families from getting help;
  • Increasing awareness that the journey for LGBT youth is difficult which puts them at higher risk of suicide; and
  • Distributing resource cards with hotline numbers and websites widely throughout the community.
For more information, please contact the Field Coordinator in your area.

Contacts:

Shannon Rauh
Director of Training and contact for King County

shannon@yspp.org

Charhys Bailey
King County Field Coordinator
charhys@yspp.org
Patricia Erdman
Tri-Counties Field Coordinator
patty@yspp.org
Crystal Hasey
Okanogan County Field Coordinator
crystal@yspp.org
Kristi Haynes
Tri-Cities Field Coordinator
kristi@yspp.org
Celisa Hopkins
Yakima County Field Coordinator
celisa@yspp.org
Mary Jadwisiak
Clark-Cowlitz County Field Coordinator
mary@yspp.org
Sabrina Votava
Spokane County Field Coordinator
sabrina@yspp.org
Theresa Mahar
Grays Harbor County Field Coordinator
theresa@yspp.org

 

 

 

 

For more info...
Contact a Coordinator
 
Need Help Now? | Curriculum | Training | Bullying & LGBTQ | About YSPP | Contact | Donate | Sitemap | Search | Login
Email YSPP | (206) 297-5922
Copyright 2001-2011 Youth Suicide Prevention Program All Rights Reserved